Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

There have been many adaptations throughout the years since it was first introduced to the world. My copy for example was printed in 1969. I bought it at half price books when I was 16. I have had it ten years and read in too many times to count. But to this day it remains a classic story because it is unforgettable. When you read it you just can’t read it once. In High Schools across the united states (I don’t know if it is also true as well overseas. If it is let me know).

Still to this day one of the classics. And one of the most loved love story. Even though it’s a tragedy. But even though it ends in death I still see it as one of the longest love stories ever told. It has been told for centuries and we are still learning more about it. Like the two sets of remains that were found where Shakespeare set the story of Romeo and Juliet.

When they were found it appeared that the two were embracing each other. If my memory serves in the book she was 17 and he was 18, the remains found where no older than twenty. Which is sad in itself but also remarkable.

It’s remarkable, because even though it’s a story that has lasted the test of time its just that a story that is completely fiction. At least that was what we all thought that was the case once the remains surfaced.

 

 

 

Leave a comment